Have You Been To These Tourist Places In Gulbarga (Kalaburagi)?

Have You Been To These Tourist Places In Gulbarga (Kalaburagi)?

Gulbarga, a city in Karnataka, officially known as Kalaburagi is one of the major towns of the North Karnataka region. Earlier, it was the part of Hyderabad state but now incorporated into the newly formed Mysore city.

Kalaburagi is famous for limestone deposits and Toordal or pigeon pea.  It is rapidly urbanizing district and comes under Gulbarga Metropolitan area. The city is known for architectural, historical, and religious importance within its tourist destinations.

Here are some of the major places that you can visit in Gulbarga.

Khwaja Bande Nawaz Dargah

khwaja banda nawaz dargah

This dargah is considered as the tomb of Khwaja Syed Mohammad Gesu Daraz, a Sufi saint. Khwaja Bande Nawaz Dargah is built in the Indo-Saracenic style of architecture. Also, there is a library in dargah; it has a collection of around 10,000 books in different languages including Urdu and Arabic.



Sannati is a small village situated on the shores of the Bhima River in Chitapur Taluk. The Chandrala Parameshwari Temple, located in the village, is popular with tourists. Many excavations have been done by the Archaeological Survey of India, here. Various sculptures,  tablets and terracotta items have been found in the excavation. This place is famous for the discovery of an ancient Buddhist Mahastupa. The Karnataka Government strives to establish the village as an International Buddhist Centre.

Gulbarga Fort


Gulbarga Fort is constructed in Islamic style of architecture, by a feudatory of the Orangal Kakatiyas, Raja Gulchand. It is believed that the fort was fortified by Alauddin Bahman after Gulbarga became the capital of the Bahmani Dynasty.

The premises of the fort encompass numerous ancient buildings, mosques, temples and stables. After Vijayanagara King Krishnadevaraya had destroyed the fort, Adil Shah reconstructed it.

Jama Masjid


Jama Masjid is the mosque situated within the ramparts of the Gulbarga Fort. Resembling the mosque of Cordova, Spain, it was established to commemorate Gulbarga as a Bahmani capital. It is one of the oldest mosques in southern India. The masjid was constructed in 1367 A.D., by Mohammad Bahmani and has various domes with narrow entrances.

Narayanapura Dam

narayanpura dam

Famous with the name of Basava Sagar Dam, this place is constructed across the Krishna river at Siddapur village in Muddebihal Taluk. It was mainly built for irrigation, but later on, downstream electrical generation and drinking water considerations also entered into its management.

Chandralamba Temple

chandralamba temple

The Chandralamba Parmeshvari temple is located in the small village of Sannati in Gulbarga. The place is prime location and famous for Paduka of Goddess Chandralamba – Incarnation of Goddess Laxmi.

Sharana Basaveshwara Temple

sharana bhaveshwara temple

Sharana Basaveshwara Temple believed to be devoted to the Hindu philosopher and religious teacher, Shri Sharana Basaveshwara. He was a Lingayat saint and was known for Dasoha, and Kayaka philosophy of ‘giving is earning’.

The temple has the samadhi of Sharana Basaveshwara, which is known as Garbha Gudi. Dating back to the 12th century, the carvings of elephants, flowers, parrots, creepers and Garuda can be seen in the temple. The temple is also known for its Sabhamandapa, which consists of around 36 arches and numerous pillars. On the occasion of Jatra, it is visited by many people around the country.

Chandrampalli Dam


Chandrampalli Dam is situated in Chandrampalli Village and is constructed on River Bhima.  There is an island nearby, where tourists enjoy activities like camping and trekking. The Hanuman Temple on the adjoining hill can be reached by climbing few steps.

Deval Ghanagapur


Deval Ghanagapur is a village situated in the Afzalpur Taluk. It is famous for the Nirgun Math Temple and Kalleshwar Temple. Sangam, also known as the Sangam Kshetra, is a prominent tourist attraction near the confluence of two rivers, Bhima and Amarja.

The Nrsimha Theertha, Chakra Theertha, Sreepaada Theertha, Manmatha Theertha, Rudrapada Theertha, Bhagirathi Theertha, Paap Nashaka Theertha and Koti Theertha constitute the Ashta Teerthas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *