All Updates About Odisha Panchayat Election 2017

All Updates About Odisha Panchayat Election 2017

Latest news about Odisha Panchayat Elections 2017. Odisha Panchayat Chunav details – Schedule like Date & Timing details of Elections, Nomination & other updates along with the release of official notification very soon.

Good news for all the active voters and candidates. Odisha panchayat election dates have been announced. The entire schedule has been made available to the public. On 28th December, State Election Commission (SEC) made the official announcement. As per the reports of the election commission, Odisha panchayat chunav will be held in 5 phases. The election will be on 13th, 15th, 17th, 19th and 21st of February 2017. The timing of polling is 7:00 am to 12:00 pm. The vote counting will start from 1:00 pm until it’s complete.

Both voters and politicians are equally excited about the upcoming state panchayat elections in Odisha. In February 2017, when the present panchayat will end its term, the Odisha Gram Panchayat elections will be held, which means that the Odisha state will be roaring with the election campaign and preparations in the coming days. The excitement in the general population is evident as people will get to decide who is capable of holding power for the next panchayat term. Voters will be doing this by basing their preferences on the performance and history of the candidates who have held power previously. These Gram Panchayat elections will decide the fate of all the competing candidates.

After the elections, the posts to be filled are Sarpanch, Panch, Ward Members, Zila Parishad Members & others.


▪   Election Schedule Launched on 28th December 2016

As per the orders of the Orissa High Court, elections for the posts of sarpanch and 23 ward members of the Dhinkia gram panchayat in Jagatsinghpur’s Ersama block will not be held. Identically, polling for 6 gram panchayats including Parjang [Dehnaknal], Dasarathpur [Jajpur], Kolabira and Laikera [Jharsuguda], Bhawanipatna [Kalahandi] and Bengali [Sambalpur] have not been notified for the same.

Election Name – Gram Panchayat Elections in the Odisha State in The year 2017.

Authority Department – Odisha Election Commission

Panchayat Election Posts – Sarpanch, Panch, Ward Members, Zila Parishad Members & Others

Total Seats – 853 Zilla Parishad seats, 6801 Panchayat Samiti’s seats, 6802 Sarpanch seats, and 92029 ward members.

Official Notification Release Date – 27th December 2016

Nominations to be filled – From 11th January to 17th January 2017.

Last date of withdrawal of Nominations & List of Candidates – 21st January.

Voting Dates – 13,15,17,19,21 February 2017.

Number of Eligible Voters – 2.6 Crore

Result Announcement Date – Updating soon

India is a Republican country, and the panchayat elections merely reflect the democratic basis function at the grassroots. During the elections time, all the local and national parties that operate in Odisha will be sharing the details about the members that will be competing on their behalf. These lists of candidates and nominations will begin in the next upcoming days when the election commission will release the official notification inviting the same. Earlier, in the last panchayat elections in 2012, approximately 2.5 crore voters elected leaders to various posts in the state. The elections were for 1,00,841 seats of Sarpanch, Ward Members, candidates and members of Zila Parishad. This year also, it is expected that all the voters in the state will appear for the panchayat elections and cast their valuable vote to favor their preferred nominee.

The process of the elections is as follows –

  • Election Commission of the state releases notification.
  • Nominations are registered.
  • Elections are Conducted.
  • Then, result is Declared

BJP is expected to make a comeback in this year of gram panchayat elections of Odisha. After the party secured a good majority in the last elections, thanks to the Modi-wave, they have constantly been in controversies. To redeem their positions this year also, BJP will be changing campaign strategies to build its reputation back in Odisha. BJP will be combating against the strong opposition of Biju Janta Dal (BJD). In addition to reforming its campaign and arranging protests over local problems, the party leaders are also focussing more on the tribal areas.


Once the panchayat releases the legal announcement about the gram panchayat elections of Odisha for the coming year, the same will be updated on the official portal of the panchayat elections. This year also 1 lakh seats are expected to be filled like the last year through these elections. The elections will be conducted in 5 phases in February 2017. The timing of polling is from 8: 00 am to 12:00 pm.

1st Phase -13th February 2017

2nd Phase -15th February 2017

3rd Phase -17th February 2017

4th Phase -19th February 2017

5th Phase – 21st February 2017


To find all recent updates on the matter, you can visit the official website, or you can follow the leading news channels and newspapers for regular updates.

Visit the site and look for the section on Panchayat elections 2017. The official notification has been made available from 27th December 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *